2006 CALA Scholarship Recipients

2006 CALA Scholarship Recipients

The Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the four 2006 CALA scholarships:

Xiao Hu from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), Candice Anne Wing-Yee Mack from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Allan Cho from the University of British Columbia (UBC), and Neely Tang from the University of Pittsburgh.

The award ceremony will be held at the CALA Awards Banquet scheduled Sunday, June 25, 2006, 7:00 - 10:00 pm, in conjunction with the 2006 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

Ms. Xiao Hu, a doctoral student at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has won the 2006 CALA Scholarship of Library and Information Science.

Ms. Hu has a background in engineering, having earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Electronics & Information Systems from Wuhan University, and a Master of Science degree in Circuits & Systems from Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications before coming to the U.S. In her reference letter, Linda C. Smith, Professor and Associate Dean at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, described Ms. Hu as a very talented researcher. The papers she collaborated with Professor Stephen Downie and others dealing with various aspects of music information retrieval were accepted in various conferences.

Supervisors of her research assistantships, teaching assistantships, and internships have all had high praise for her accomplishments and abilities. Haiying Qian , Catalog Librarian at St. Mary-of-the-Woods College, also praised Ms. Hu's leadership in her role as the President of the GSLIS Chinese Group at the University. Ms. Hu has received many awards and scholarships, including the Best Poster Award at the Joint Conference on Digital Libraries. She is a member of CALA Midwest Chapter, currently serving on the Membership Committee.



Ms. Candice Anne Wing-Yee Mack is the recipient of the C.C. Seetoo Conference Travel Scholarship. Ms. Mack is currently pursuing her Master in Library Science at the School of Library and Information Science, University of California Los Angeles. Irene Lovas, Senior Medical Librarian at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, cites Ms. Mack for her exceptional organizational and problem solving skills her willingness to take on new challenges, accept responsibilities, learn new technologies and expand her knowledge base of library and information service. Previous scholarships awarded to Ms. Mack include the Medical Library Group of Southern California & Arizona Scholarship 2006; University of California Los Angeles Graduate Fellowship 2005; and the American Library Association, MLA/NLM Spectrum Scholarship 2005. Ms. Mack will use the C.C. Seeto Conference Travel Scholarship to attend the 2006 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.



Mr. Allan Cho is awarded Sheila Suen Lai Scholarship. Mr. Cho is currently enrolled in a program of Master of Library, Archival, and Information Studies at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. He received his Master Degree of Arts, major in history from the same University in 2004. As Editor-in-Chief of UBC Perspectives Newspaper, the first Chinese-English bilingual student publication in Western Canada, he has initiated a fundraising campaign for the Earthquake disaster in Southern Asia. Professor Martin Dowding from the School of Library, Archival, and Information Study at the University of British Columbia praised Mr. Cho that is extremely intelligent, works very hard, and will make an excellent information specialist.



Ms. Neely Jo-Tung Tang is the recipient of the Huang Tso-ping and Wu Yao-yu Scholarship. She is currently pursuing her Master in the Library & Information Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh. She believes that increasing diversity in our profession would make customers, from all backgrounds, more comfortable in using libraries.

In a reference letter, Dr. Toni Carbo, Professor (former Dean) of the school of Information Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh, writes that. Tang is an exceptional student, who is resourceful, creative, and a person of high integrity. And she is an outstanding thinker, who demonstrates very high likelihood of being a real star. Other honors awarded to Ms. Tang include the 2005-06 Betty Turock Spectrum Scholar-American Library Association. She will be attending the ALA conference this June as University of Pittsburgh student-to-staff representative.

Each year, the CALA Scholarship Committee awards four scholarships, up to $2,200, to full-time students enrolled in ALA-accredited LIS programs in the United States and Canada. These scholarships are CALA Scholarship of Library and Information Science, Sheila Suen Lai Scholarship, C.C. Seetoo Conference Travel Scholarship, and Huang Tso-ping and Wu Yao-yu Scholarship. This year, we received many applications from outstanding and well-qualified library students. Choosing only one recipient for each of the CALA Scholarships from many fine applicants was a very difficult task. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the applicants who sent us applications and library professionals who took the time to write wonderful reference letters. CALA was pleased to be able to provide support to these outstanding students in their library professional education through these scholarships. We would like also to encourage those who are not awarded at this time to apply again next year.

2006 CALA Scholarships Committee
Holly Yu (Chair)
Chi-Chun Hsieh
Klairon K. Tang
Arden Wong
Lijun Xue