Dr. Zhijia Shen is the 2018 CALA Distinguished Service Award recipient

Dear CALA Members:

The CALA Awards Committee is pleased to announce that Dr. Zhijia Shen, a CALA life member and the Director of East Asia Library at the University of Washington, was selected as the recipient of the 2018 CALA Distinguished Service Award!

Dr. Shen has been dedicated to Chinese and Chinese-American librarianship throughout her career.  She has committed to the growth and presence of Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL) and CALA as a strong ethnic professional association through her passionate activism and professional involvement.  Dr. Shen has been an outstanding leader and played many leadership roles in organizations both nationally and locally.  She has chaired many committees and taken numerous key member positions since she entered the profession, such as:

·         CEAL: Vice-President/President-elect, 2016-2018; President, 2018-2020,

·         Society of Chinese Studies Librarians: President, 2016-2018,

·         CALA: Board of Directors, 2014-2017; President, 2010-2011,

·         Program Committee of the IFLA Pre-conference on Asian Studies Libraries, 2005-2009,

·         OCLC CJK Metadata Cataloging Task Force, 2003,

·         Steering/Publicity Committees, the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color, 2002-2003,

·         ACRL, Executive Committee African/Asian/Middle Eastern Section, 1994-1996.

Of particular notice are Dr. Shen’s prolific publications, numerous presentations, dedicated research endeavors and community services that recapitulate her contributions to Chinese/East Asian American Librarianship, cultural diversity and Asian Studies.  As a dedicated East Asian library professional, Dr. Shen has worked on many grants and obtained more than 30 grants with a total amount close to 2 million dollars. 

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Shen on her being selected as the recipient of this long overdue Award, and applauding her achievements at 2018 CALA Awards Reception in New Orleans, Louisiana.    


CALA Awards Committee (2017-2018)

Leping He, Co-Chair (Leping.He@asu.edu)
Yongyi Song, Co-Chair (ysong2@exchange.calstatela.edu)
Jianye He (hjy@berkeley.edu
Vincci Kwong (vkwong@iusb.edu)
Haihua Li (haihuali@hotmail.com)
LiLi Li (LiLiLi@georgiasouthern.edu)                                                                                                          
Jessica Lu (zjlu@usfca.edu)
YiPing Wang (yiping4cala@gmail.com)
Anlin Yang (anlin-yang@uiowa.edu)