Awards Committee


Member Roster:

Is this an interim or annual report?: Annual report

List significant activities the committee has done since last report:
The Award Committee has

  1. Selected a recipient for the 2010 CALA Distinguished Service Award
  2. Recommended Dr. Ling Hwey Jeng as the recipient to the President and the Executive Director for them to forward to the Board for approval
    • Followed the criteria and guidelines established by the Board
    • Reviewed & evaluated candidates' submissions
    •  Discussed extensively and openly
    •  Accepted two nominated candidates' withdrawals:
      • one candidate withdrew at the beginning of the process
      • the other candidate withdrew later in the process
    •  Communicated with the nominators, nominees, and supporters
    •  Reviewed and discussed two candidates' documentations
    •  Solicited supporting letters
  3. Made five(5) recommendations for the Board to take actions on

List committee recommendations, if any, to the Board:
The 2009 - 2010 Award Committee proposes that:

1.    President and Executive Director forward to the Board that Dr. Ling Hwey Jeng  be the recipient of the 2010 CALA Distinguished Service Award

2.    Criteria for the recipient be revised as it follows:

Criteria #3. There shall be no special consideration for or against a candidate's age, gender, or length of service to the profession. The recipient needs to be of Chinese origin, and a member of CALA. Self-nomination is accepted.

3.    Past years' recipient list be corrected as it follows:

CALA Distinguished Service Award

Year                                 Honorees   

1980                         Dr. Ernest Wolff
1981                         No one awarded
1982                         Dr. Ching-chih Chen (陳劉欽智)
1983                         Dr. Hwa-wei Lee (李華偉)
1984                         Ms. Sally C. Tseng (曾程雙修)
1985                         Dr. Tsuen-hsuin Tsien (錢存訓) and Mr. David Ta-ching Liu (劉大經)
1986                         Dr. Wen-yu Yen (嚴文郁) and Ms. Gloria Hsia (夏王詳明)
1987                         Prof. Chen-ku Wang (王振鹄)
1988                         Dr. Tse-chung Li (李志钟)
1989                         Dr. Margaret C. Fung (张鼎钟)
1990                         Mr. Karl Ku (顧敏) and Dr. Harris Seng (沈寶環)
1991                         Dr. Norma N. Yueh (樂乃儂)
1992                         Dr. Lois Mai Chan (麥麟屏)
1993                         Ms. Amy D. Seetoo (司徒達森) and Ms. Irene Yeh (葉方光晴)
1994                            Ms. Julia W. Tung
1995                            Mr. Shou-jing Zhuang (庄守經) and Dr. David Kaser
1996                            Mr. Gary Strong
1997                            Betty Tsai (蔡林麗芸)
1998                            Karl K. Lo
1999                            Priscilla Yu (于張品絲)
2000                            Amy Ching-Fen Tsiang (吴慶芬)
2001                            Eugene Wu (吴文津)
2002                            Xinxia Lai (来新夏)
2003                            Peter R. Young
2004                            Linna Yu
2005                            Susana Liu
2006                            Liana Zhou
2007                            ShaLi Zhang
2008                            Haipeng Li
2009                            John Ma

4.    Submission requirements be revised (#3 in red is red/addition):

1.    formal nomination letter from the nominator *
2.    three (3) supporting letters
3.    nominee's vita
4.    samples of publications
5.    honors received; and
6.    other supporting documentation
7.    all documentation in the format of PDF (preferred) or WORD

5.    *All nominators shall send their nominations in a formal letter (as an attachment in DOC or PDF files) instead of an email message.