2019 Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant Announcement

On behalf of the CALA President, Executive Director and Awards Committee, the CALA Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant Subcommittee is pleased to announce that Jon R. Jablonski is the winner of the 2019 Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant.

Jon received the grant for his research proposal, Children’s Libraries in China, particularly children’s libraries operating as private businesses and by non-profit organizations across China. He also works with the Smiling Library (微笑图书室), a private non-profit organization in Shanghai, to offer reading promotional activities to rural and semi-rural primary schools in the city of Chengdu, and rural Sichuan Province.

Jon R. Jablonski is the Director of Interdisciplinary Research Collaboratory at the UC Santa Barbara Library. Jon served on CALA committees and presents at the Southern California annual meetings. He has been pursuing interests in China since 2007 and was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to teach library science at Wuhan University in 2011.

Please join us in our congratulating Jon R. Jablonski and wishing him continued success in pursuit of excellence in research.

The CALA Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant is to recognize research potential and excellence and encourage CALA members to engage in research activities that contribute towards library and information science, and related to Chinese American Librarianship particularly.

The Subcommittee would like to thank Ying Zhang, the CALA President (2018-2019), and the support of the CALA Executive Committee and the CALA Awards Committee, who provides guidance and support for the operations of the Subcommittee. The Subcommittee would also like to thank the CALA Web Committee as led by Minhao Jiang to update the award information (https://cala-web.org/awards/lai_research_grant).

A special thank you goes to the CALA members who participated in this year’s CALA Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant. Thank you for your participation and support and we look forward to seeing your applications in the future.


CALA Sheila Suen Lai Research Grant Subcommittee (2018 – 2019) 

Sai Deng, Co-Chair, saideng@gmail.com

YiPing Wang, Co-Chair, yiping4cala@gmail.com

Jia He, jiahe@southalabama.edu

Daniel Xiao, danxiao@library.tamu.edu

Jingshan Xiao, Xiao@uhcl.edu