2014 Conference Travel Grant is now available for application (deadline: 3/20/2014)

Dear CALA Members:

Happy New Year!

The CALA Conference Travel Grant Committee is pleased to announce that the 2014 Conference Travel Grant is now available for application. The purpose of this travel grant is to support CALA members in their efforts to play an active role at professional conferences for their professional or career development. Below, please find a summary of the application guidelines:

Applicant Eligibility

The applicant must be a CALA member in good standing for three consecutive years, including the year of application.

  • The applicant must have an assigned duty at the conference to be attended, e.g., to present a paper, to chair a committee, or to serve as an officer to convene a meeting.
  • All grant activities must be within the funding period of the year.
  • The applicant must have not received the CALA travel grant in the past three years.

Supported Conferences:

All professional conferences associated with library and information science are supported by the CALA grant. However, priority will be given to those conferences which CALA sponsors or cosponsors or plays an active role of endorsing. Examples of the conference include, but are not limited to:

CALA sponsored/cosponsored international, national, or regional conferences, meetings, and forums.

  • ALA conferences and meetings (including all those of its divisions, roundtables, and standing committees)
  • IFLA conferences and meetings
  • Other conferences that advance and promote the profession of library and information science.

Application Deadline: March 20th, 2014.

A complete Travel Grant Application Form and required documents should be sent via email to both co-chairs of the Conference Travel Grant Committee at hjy@berkeley.edu and WWZhang@library.lacounty.gov.

Attached, you will find a copy of the Conference Travel Grant Guidelines and Travel Grant Application form. You may also find the documents on the CALA website at: http://cala-web.org/node/835.




CALA Conference Travel Grant Committee:

Jianye He (co-chair)

Wen Wen Zhang (co-chair)

Emily Chan

Michael Huang

Zao Liu