2008 CALA Scholarship Recipients

The Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the three 2008 CALA scholarships:

Vivian Wong from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Stephen Chan from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC), and Tiffany Chao from the University of Michigan.

The CALA Awards Banquet will be held on Sunday, June 29, 2008, from 7:00 pm to 10:00 pm at King Harbor Seafood Restaurant, 13018 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92843, in conjunction with the 2008 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, CA.


Ms. Vivian Wong is the recipient of the 2008 CALA Scholarship of Library and Information Science. Ms. Wong is currently a doctoral student in the Department of Information Studies at UCLA.  She has earned her M.F.A. degree in directing from UCLA and her B.A. degree in East Asian Studies from Bryn Mawr College. 

As a filmmaker and an information specialist, Ms. Wong has dedicated herself to documenting personal as well as collective experiences and memories of Asian Americans. She has also taught courses in community media, video ethnography, and documentary filmmaking.

All her references for her application of the scholarship held high opinion of her.  Dr. Robert A. Nakamura, professor of Asian American Studies and director of the Center for Ethno Communications at UCLA, described Ms. Wong as “a talented filmmaker, a committed community documentarian, and a dedicated teacher.”  Professor Anne Gilliland from the Graduate School of Education & Information Studies at UCLA praised her as “a most interesting and distinctive student” for the school and for the LIS field due to her innovative approach to archival studies through filmmaking.  In his reference letter, Dr. Florante Peter Ibanez, manager of Library Computer Services at Loyola Law School, Los Angels, commented that Ms. Wong is dedicated to the service of the Asian American community and the library and information studies profession needs more committed people like her.  

The C. C. Seetoo Conference Travel Scholarship will not be granted this year.


Mr. Stephen Chan is awarded Sheila Suen Lai Scholarship. Stephen Chan is a graduate student in the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Stephen has a great passion for librarianship in general, and law librarianship in particular. He has held three different positions at the UNC Law Library: a reference assistant, a research assistant for the Faculty Research Service researching legal and interdisciplinary issues for the faculty, and a research assist for the Deputy Director with the completion of a book project. His supervisors and the faculty he has worked with have been deeply impressed by his motivation, personality, and commitment to legal research and librarianship. Stephen personifies a high degree of initiative and industriousness not only in the way he has sought out multiple relevant work at the UNC Law Library but also in his intellectual, thorough and professional approach to his duties at these different positions. In addition, Stephen has made a tremendous effort to become involved in professional and leadership activities. He is a member of the American Library Association, American Association of Law Libraries, Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association, Association of College & Research Libraries, North Carolina Library Association, and Special Libraries Association. Stephen has recently been elected President of the school’s chapter of the Special Libraries Association.

Stephen Chan has previously been recipient of the American Library Association Spectrum Scholarship and Franklin Pierce Law Center Scholarship.


Ms. Tiffany Chao is the recipient of the Huang Tso-ping and Wu Yao-yu Scholarship. She is pursuing her master degree at the University of Michigan, School of Information. In addition to her excellent academic coursework, Ms. Chao has been involved in various of research projects and community services through her undergraduate and graduate education. She has been a research assistant to a number of research institutions and presented her research at several conferences. Ms. Chao has been an officer, secretary, and a reorder of Tau Beta Sigma-Lambda Chapter, an honorary band service sorority and a volunteer of the Dance Marathon, a student-run philanthropy program for C.S. Mott’s Children Hospital. The honors Ms. Chao has received include Rackham Graduate School Travel Grant, Gwinn-Cole Family Scholarship, Eli Lilly Research and Travel Award and Tau Beta Sigma-Outstanding Academic Achievement Award. She is also an active student member of Society of American Archivists and Special Libraries Association.

All three references gave Ms. Chao extremely high marks on her academic performance, community service and leadership development.  Ms. Shao-Chen Lin

Head of Technical Services at Lincolnwood Public Library District wrote “Ms. Chao has always displayed a high degree of integrity, responsibility, and ambition. She has taken the initiative to immerse herself in the information services through her participation in the Art Libraries Society of North America annual conference and her research assistant positions which focus on the user-perspective of how information is communicated and used.” And “she has proven her leadership ability and responsibility through coordinating and conducting nationally-funded research studies for hundreds of participants.” Dr. Alen Sanders, director of Behavior Genetics Unit Center for Psychiatric Genetics wrote “I was very impressed by Ms. Chao’s work ethic, communication skills, proficiency at a number of computer programs necessary for our work, responsibility, trustworthiness, flexibility, adaptability, enthusiasm and initiative.”


Each year, the CALA Scholarship Committee awards four scholarships, up to $2,200, to full-time students enrolled in ALA-accredited LIS programs in the United States and Canada. These scholarships are CALA Scholarship of Library and Information Science, Sheila Suen Lai Scholarship, C.C. Seetoo Conference Travel Scholarship, and Huang Tso-ping and Wu Yao-yu Scholarship. This year, the scholarship committee received many applications from outstanding and well-qualified library students. Choosing only one recipient for each of the CALA Scholarships from many fine applicants was a very difficult task. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the applicants who sent us application materials and library professionals who took time to write wonderful reference letters for the applicants. CALA is pleased to be able to provide support to these outstanding students in their library professional education through these scholarships. We would like also to strongly encourage those who are not awarded at this time to apply again next year.

2008 CALA Scholarship Committee:
Zao Liu
Hong Miao
Lianglei Qi
Tim Zou
Lijun Xue (Chair)