CALA 2012 Election Announcement

Dear CALA members:

We are pleased to announce the forthcoming 2012 Chinese American Library Association (CALA) elections.  To be eligible to vote, individuals must be CALA members in good standing as of April 30, 2012.

The Nominating Committee and the Election Ad hoc Committee follow CALA Bylaws, Article VII for Nominations and Elections and Article VIII for Electronic or Mail Vote for election.

CALA 2012 Election for the following vacant positions :
1)      Vice-President/President-Elect (2013/2014)
2)      Treasurer (2012/2014)
3)      Five Directors of the Board (2012/2015)

Below is the slate of candidates approved by the CALA Board in alphabetical order:

For the 2nd Vice-President/President Elect, 2014/2015:
Carol Ka-chuen Gee             
Haiwang Yuan

For the Treasurer, 2012/2014:
Fu-Waye Bender                 
Maria Yuen-Hung Fung

For Board of Directors, 2012/2015:
Qi Chen                        
Bonnie L. Fong                 
Li Fu                          
Denise Kwan                    
Guoying Liu                    
Wen-Ling Liu
Songqian Lu
Cecilia Siu-Wah Poon
Hanrong Wang
Xiaoyin, Zhang

Their biographical information and statements and amendment to Constitution & Bylaws will be available with the ballots in the

We are testing the election system to ensure that it will work smoothly.  In the process, we have discovered that the election system
needs to use the latest version of IE (version 8) or another browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, etc.).

Polls will open at 9:00 a.m. EST on Monday May 7th, 2012 and close on Monday, May 21st at 11:59 p.m. EST.  We will notify voters
by e-mail, providing them with their unique passcodes and instructions about how to vote online.

During the voting period if you experience any problems, please contact Bin Zhang at or any other members of the Election Ad hoc Committee. We want to ensure that you have a pleasant experience in the 2012 CALA election process. Please watch for the email announcements for online voting information and the open of the polls.

Ballots for the Mail Vote will be mailed to those eligible members who do not have email address. 

We look forward to your participation.
Sincerely yours,
2012 CALA Election Ad hoc Committee
Haipeng Li, Chair, <
Vincci Kwong <>
Jen-chien Yu <>
Bin Zhang Bin Zhang <>
Dora Ho <>
Kuang Pei Tu  <>
Theresa Webster <>
Min Chou, ex officio <>