2011 CALA Scholarships

Application Deadline: March 30, 2011

Online Application URL: http://www.cala-web.org/node/303

Founded in 1973, the Chinese American Librarians Association has seven regional chapters. It is affiliated with the American Library Association. In addition to holding annual and regional programs, CALA publishes its own Newsletter, Membership Directory, and the Journal of Library and Information Science in cooperation with the National Taiwan Normal University. The Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) is pleased to announce the availability of the 2011 CALA Scholarships:

  • The CALA Scholarship of Library and Information Science
    This scholarship awards $1,000 annually to a full time student at an ALA-accredited library school in North America.
  • The Sheila Suen Lai Scholarship
    The scholarship awards $500 to a full time student at an ALA-accredited library school in North America.

These Scholarships are designed to encourage professional and leadership development in Chinese American librarianship. They are open to full-time students of Chinese heritage who are currently enrolled in an ALA-accredited master's or doctoral program of library and information science at an institution of higher education in North America. Applicants may apply for any or all of the scholarships listed above. One application and reference package will be sufficient. For more information, please visit the CALA website at http://www.cala-web.org/node/204 where you will find guidelines, application forms, and other information.

Please submit all the documents online at http://www.cala-web.org/node/303  

The application deadline is 12 mid-night Central Time March 30, 2011. The recipients of the scholarships will be announced by May 31, 2011, and the awards will be presented by the Chinese American Librarians Association at the CALA Awards Banquet during the 2011 ALA annual conference.  

Please contact the 2010-2011 CALA Scholarship Committee for any questions.

2010-2011 CALA Scholarship Committee:
Hong Miao (co-chair) hongm@maryu.marywood.edu

Shu-Hua Liu (co-chair) shuhualiu2000@yahoo.com

Xiaocan Wang xiaocan.wang@indstate.edu

Hui-fen Chang huifen.chang@okstate.edu

Andrew Yanqing Lee yli7@gmu.edu

Daniel Xiao danxiao@tamu.edu

Yue Julie XuJulie.xu@gmail.com