Guidelines for the CALA Outstanding Library Leadership Award in Memory of Dr. Margaret Chang Fung


To honor Dr. Margaret Chang Fung’s distinguished library career as a dedicated library director, educator, innovator, advocator, scholar, government official, and, above all, an exemplary leader, the Fung’s family established the Dr. Margaret Chang Fung Memorial Endowment Fund with $22,000.00, and members of the Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) and friends of Dr. Fung have contributed to the Fund. CALA created the Outstanding Library Leadership Award in Memory of Dr. Margaret Chang Fung in 2012 and has given this Award annually since 2013.

Guidelines and Criteria for Nomination and Selection 


  • A Chinese American or Chinese leader who has consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievements in library and information services at the national and/or international level can be nominated for this Award.
  • Nominees must be current CALA members for at least three consecutive years.


  • Outstanding leadership and achievements in library and information services at the national and/or international level.
  • Distinguished contributions and services for the advancement of Chinese American librarianship will receive special consideration from the Award Committee.

Evaluation principles

  • No individual can receive the Award more than once.
  • All nominations are welcome. No candidate will be discriminated against based on age, gender, religion, sexual orientation, or length of service to the library and information profession.
  • The Award Committee reserves the right not to give the Award if submissions do not meet the requirements or are of insufficient quality.

The Award Presentation and Publication

This Award recipient will be honored at the CALA Awards Banquet during the ALA Annual Conference. The Award recipient is encouraged to submit an essay in English or in Chinese for publication, within the next 12 months, in the joint NTNU/CALA Journal of Library and Information Science published by the National Taiwan Normal University.

Nominations must be in English and submitted electronically. The nomination requirements are:

1.    A formal nomination letter from the nominator who has to be a current CALA member or self-nominator.
2.    3 - 5 supporting letters.
3.    Curriculum vitae of the nominee.
4.    Samples of publications or presentations (no more than 5).
5.    List of relevant awards and honors received.
6.    Other supporting documentations.

Submission deadline: Tuesday, March 20, 2018.
The complete nomination package must be submitted to the Committee at by 11:59 p.m., USA Pacific Standard Time, March 20, 2018.

2017-2018 CALA Outstanding Library Leadership Award in Memory of Dr. Margaret
Chang Fung Subcommittee

Appendix:  Brief Introduction of Dr. Margaret Chang Fung, 1934-2010

Dr. Margaret Chang Fung was a Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) life member and a CALA Distinguished Services Award recipient. She was born in China, attended universities in Hong Kong and Taiwan, and did graduate studies in the United States for her Ph.D. in Library and Information Science from Indiana University. Throughout her illustrious professional career in the United States, Hong Kong, and Taiwan, Dr. Fung served as a Chinese studies promoter, a visionary university library director, a highly respected library and information science professor, a widely published scholar, a pioneer in Chinese library automation, a skillful government official in civil service examinations and personnel administration, a leader in the women’s rights movements, and an active advocator in international library cooperation. In her role as the President of the Library Association of the Republic of China (Taiwan) , Dr. Fung was instrumental in the draft and passage of the Library Law in Taiwan. Dr. Fung has published numerous works, including more than 90 articles, and such books of solid scholarship as Library and Information (1979), A Primer of Library Automation (1981), On Library and Information Science (1982), Guide to Information Science (1984), Reflections on Civil Service System Library/Information Science (1996), and Collected Works of Margaret Chang Fung (2004). Dr. Fung’s substantial scholarship, achievements, contributions, leadership and dedication to the library profession are highly admirable and of lasting value.  She is an exemplary role model for librarians in general, and Chinese American librarians in particular.

  (There are many published biographies of Dr. Fung written in Chinese that were published in Taiwan. The two representative ones are:
汪雁秋. “祝賀七十――賀張鼎鍾教授七秩榮慶. ”《跨越數位時代的資訊服務――張鼎鍾教授七秩榮慶論文集》(台北:文華圖書館管理,2004), pp. 7-13.
陳友民. “圖資考銓一女傑―― 張鼎鍾教授傳略. ”《跨越數位時代的資訊服務――張鼎鍾教授七秩榮慶論文集》(台北:文華圖書館管理,2004),  pp. 419-428. )               

(More information about this award)