ALA News

Subscribe to ALA News feed
Updated: 7 hours 12 min ago

ALA persists with #eBooksForAll advocacy campaign: “Macmillan must lift the embargo”

Sat, 01/25/2020 - 09:24

PHILADELPHIA – ALA President Wanda Brown issued the following statement in response to Macmillan CEO John Sargent’s “Ask Me Anything” session at the ALA Midwinter Meetings on Saturday, January 25, 2020: 

“Today, Mr. Sargent invited conference attendees to ask him anything. He talked, and stakeholders from the library community asked questions and engaged. Unfortunately, he has not been listening to us.  

Olympic medalists Maia and Alex Shibutani to serve as 2020 National Library Week honorary chairs

Fri, 01/24/2020 - 16:28

CHICAGO—Authors and Olympic ice dancing medalists Maia and Alex Shibutani will promote the value of libraries as honorary chairs of National Library Week, April 19—25, 2020. The Shibutanis will shine a spotlight on our nation’s libraries, librarians and library workers, all of which transform communities and improve lives through access to information, education and technology.

Emily Drabinski, Rebekkah Smith Aldrich to deliver keynotes at the Exchange Virtual Forum

Fri, 01/24/2020 - 16:07

CHICAGO—The Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Information Technology Association (LITA) and the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) have announced that Emily Drabinski and Rebekkah Smith Aldrich will deliver keynote addresses at

John E. Ulmschneider named 2020 ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year

Thu, 01/23/2020 - 16:46

CHICAGO —John E. Ulmschneider, dean of libraries and university librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), is the 2020 Association of College and Research Libraries’ (ACRL) Academic/Research Librarian of the Year. The award, sponsored by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO, recognizes an outstanding member of the library profession who has made a significant national or international contribution to academic/research librarianship and library development.

2020 ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award recipients announced

Thu, 01/23/2020 - 11:40

CHICAGO — The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) announces the recipients of the 2020 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award – Nevada State College Marydean Martin Library, Henderson, Nevada; Santa Rosa Junior College Libraries, Santa Rosa, California; and the University of Maryland Libraries, College Park, Maryland.

Algonquin Area Public Library Receives 2020 Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Visit Award

Wed, 01/22/2020 - 17:06

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2020 Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Visit Award to the Algonquin Area Public Library in Algonquin, IL. 
The award, sponsored by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing, is designed to provide up to $4,000 to an ALSC member’s library to fund a visit from an author/illustrator who will speak to children who might otherwise not have had the opportunity to hear from a nationally known author/illustrator. 

United for Libraries offers first-ever chance to livestream Institute during Midwinter Meeting; registration open

Tue, 01/21/2020 - 17:36

EXTON, Pennsylvania — The United for Libraries Institute: Friends, Foundations, and Trustees event will be livestreamed Saturday, January 25 during the 2020 ALA Midwinter Meeting. In-person event registration begins at 12:30 p.m. Eastern; livestreaming will be 1 p.m. – 4 p.m. Registration to join the livestream is free.

ALA releases updated Libraries’ Guide to the 2020 Census

Tue, 01/21/2020 - 13:49

Today the American Library Association issued an updated Libraries’ Guide to the 2020 Census, the premier resource to prepare libraries for the decennial count of every person living in the United States.

ALA responds to National Archive efforts to alter materials

Tue, 01/21/2020 - 13:03

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) released the following statement regarding the National Archive’s efforts to alter photographs that include protest signs unflattering to our current administration. Such an act is a violation of the Library Bill of Rights which states any deletion, excision, alteration, editing, or obliteration of any part of a library resource by administrators, employees, governing authorities, parent institutions, or third party vendors when done for the purposes of censorship.

Philadelphia Leaders and Innovators Share Insights at 2020 Symposium on the Future of Libraries

Mon, 01/20/2020 - 12:01

Philadelphia leaders and innovators will share their visions for the future at three Libraries Transform sessions during the Symposium on the Future of Libraries at the 2020 ALA Midwinter Meeting.