ALA News

Subscribe to ALA News feed
Updated: 14 hours 18 min ago

RUSA Announces New Research Grant in Honor in Gail Schlachter

Thu, 09/27/2018 - 17:07

CHICAGO – RUSA is proud to announce a new research grant named in honor of long-time member leader Dr. Gail A. Schlachter. This grant was established in memory of Dr. Gail A. Schlachter by her children Sandy Hirsh and Eric Goldman, with contributions from her family and friends.

Joint Conference of Librarians of Color 2018 embraces culture, community

Thu, 09/27/2018 - 13:12

Albuquerque, N.M. — The third National Joint Conference of Librarians of Color began Sept. 26 with the theme “Gathering All Peoples: Embracing Culture & Community.” It will continue through Sept. 30 at the Albuquerque Convention Center in New Mexico.

Hlywak appointed director of ALA Communications and Marketing

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 16:58

CHICAGO — Stephanie M. Hlywak has been named ALA’s new director of Communications and Marketing, effective Oct. 1, 2018. She comes to ALA from the Muscular Dystrophy Association, where she served as national director of content marketing. In that role, she built the content marketing program from the ground up, including strategies, metrics, workflows and goals, for social media, email and blog content. She also developed MDA Amplify, a one-click app to enable staff, supporters and partner organizations to use their own social channels to amplify MDA’s messages.

Nominations open for 2019 IFRT John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 16:42

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) is accepting nomination for the 2019 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award. This award, presented annually, honors notable contributions to intellectual freedom and demonstrations of personal courage in defense of freedom of expression by a living individual, group or organization. The award consists of a citation and $500. IFRT will present the award during the 2019 ALA annual conference at Washington, D.C.

Nominations open for 2019 EMIERT Distinguished Librarian Award

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 16:15

CHICAGO - The Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) of the American Library Association seeks nominations for the 2019 EMIERT Distinguished Librarian Award. The EMIERT Distinguished Librarian Award recognizes significant accomplishments in library services that are national or international in scope and that include improving, spreading, and promoting multicultural services in libraries. The emphasis on the award is on multicultural/multiethnic as distinguished from multilingual.

The nominees should fulfill the following criteria:

Submit a Nomination for the Prestigious Kilgour Technology Research Award

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 14:05

The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) and OCLC, Inc. invite nominations for the 2018 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology. The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2018.

Sarah Jessica Parker book club pick is a radiant retelling of Liberia’s early years

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 10:41

Wayétu Moore’s ‘She Would Be King’ latest title chosen for ALA Book Club Central

CHICAGO – Honorary Book Club Central Chair Sarah Jessica Parker has selected Wayétu Moore’s She Would Be King (Graywolf Press) as her latest pick for the American Library Association’s (ALA) Book Club Central. She Would Be King reimagines the story of Liberia’s early years through three unforgettable characters, intermingling history and magical realism.

National writing contest launches to engage communities with literature

Tue, 09/25/2018 - 10:35

Public Library Association seeks stories on courage, offering winners up to $1,000 and the opportunity to be published in Short Story Dispensers worldwide

(CHICAGO) – Sept. 25, 2018 – America’s libraries are home to countless volumes and voices of diverse writers. They also are trusted public spaces for people to connect, receive community information and grow as readers and writers. The Public Library Association (PLA) today announced a new national writing contest that aims to build on the rich legacy of these vital community institutions.

Schools and Libraries Speak Out for Banned Books with Krug Fund Grants

Mon, 09/24/2018 - 23:49

Chicago, IL- The Freedom to Read Foundation extends its congratulations to the 2018 Banned Books Week grants recipients. Each year the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) distributes grants to non-profit organizations to support activities that raise awareness of intellectual freedom and censorship issues during the annual Banned Books Week celebration, held this year from September 23-29. Funding is provided through the Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund.  This year's grant recipients include:

Public libraries invited to apply for American Creed Community Conversations programming grants

Mon, 09/24/2018 - 16:17

The American Library Association (ALA), in partnership with Citizen Film and the National Writing Project, invites public libraries to apply for programming grants to host community conversations centered around American Creed, a PBS documentary that invites audiences to consider what America’s ideals and identity ought to be. 

Read the project guidelines and apply online by Nov. 19. Up to 50 public libraries will be selected.

Waugh selected to present paper for YALSA’s Trends Impacting YA Services session at 2019 ALA Midwinter

Mon, 09/24/2018 - 16:04

CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) has chosen Dr. Amanda Waugh, Instructional Librarian at St. Andrew’s Episcopal School in Potomac, MD, to present a paper at YALSA’s Trends Impacting YA Services session at the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Seattle on Saturday, January 26.

Designing, planning, and implementing career programming for teens

Mon, 09/24/2018 - 10:04

CHICAGO — Enrollment in vocational programs is on the rise and many high schools are introducing or restarting vocational preparedness components as part of their curricula. You already know that programming events for young adults can draw a big crowd, which means that right now is the right time to make sure your library’s lineup includes offerings that will help youth transition into successful adults.